Review: Specter by Katie Jane Gallagher

I received this book to read and review as part of the 2020 BBNYA (Book Blogger Novel of the Year Award) and the BBNYA tours organised by @The_WriteReads Tour Team. All opinions are my own unbiased honest thoughts.

BBNYA is a yearly competition where Book Bloggers from all over the world read and score books written by indie authors. If you are an author and wish to learn more about the 2021 BBNYA competition, you can visit the official website: www.bbnya.com or @bbnya_official and follow this link to enter. (Please make sure to read the terms and conditions before entering).

If you are a Book Blogger or reviewer and want to join an amazing panel, you can apply to be part of the 2021 BBNYA panel via this form (also remember to read the terms and conditions before signing up).

BBNYA is brought to you in association with the Folio Society (check them out if you love beautiful, special edition covers), and the book blogger support group TheWriteReads.

Specter opens with Lanie Adam being unexpectedly visited in her bedroom by two supernatural, ghostly visitors. Initially suspecting she may be hallucinating the whole event in a fever induced stupor, she soon realises that it may be her job to help put the spirits to rest.

Enlisting the help of stoner Ryan, they begin investigating the decades long mystery in their Connecticut town. But like any mystery/conspiracy that has been buried for decades, someone wants the truth to remain hidden.

I will admit, due to work and an ongoing house move, I still have a few chapters left to read in this Young Adult novel. So fortunately I couldn’t spoil the ending even if I wanted to. (And for anyone interested I will be able to give an overall rating in my end of month wrap up). But of the story so far, I have been very much much enjoying the writing style; the first person narrative told from the point of view of our heroine Lanie.

Described by some as for fans of Stranger Things, I can see some of the comparisons given the retro 80’s elements, the horror references and mystery but there are definitely less demogorgans monsters in this tale (but don’t think that there isn’t something potentially lurking). Specter so far has been a fast paced read with a number of twists and turns, although at times it did feel a little as though the plot was moving a but quickly for me.

It is gripping though (probably due to the unexpected), which means I want to try and finish reading as soon as possible, at which time I hope to be able to give my final thoughts.

TLDR? 80’s ghosts are haunting our heroine Lanie, in this paranormal mystery. Another great finalist for BBNYA 2020, that I recommend for any YA fan.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Ellie Rayner says:

    Great post, I hope you get to finish it soon!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s